Office of the Mayor

Mayor Dave Watterson DWatterson [at]

The Mayor is elected every four years independently of the City Council.  To be eligible for election, the Mayor must meet the same criteria as Councilmembers.

While Mayors often propose and develop policies, their basic responsibility is to carry out the council's directives and to implement the policies adopted by the council. The Mayor also provides the leadership necessary to keep the city moving in the proper direction. Mayors also serve as facilitators of effective teamwork, and in Tenino, the Mayor appoints and supervises three Department Heads: The Chief of Police, the Clerk/Treasurer, and the Director of Public Works. Jointly, these four people constitute "the Administration" of the City.